Odigie-Oyegun heads South South APC reconciliation panel

Published December 17, 2020

John Alechenu , Abuja
The Caretaker / Extra – Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee of the All Progressives Congress has appointed a former National Chairman of the APC , Chief John Odigie -Oyegun , as the chairman of its South -South reconciliation committee .
This is coming on the heels of a meeting held by party stalwarts from the South – South , in Abuja on Tuesday with a view to reposition the party ahead of the 2023 general elections.
The decision appointing Odigie -Oyegun was contained in a communique signed by the Secretary of the APC CENCPC, Senator John Akpan – Udo -Edehe and an APC chieftain from the region, Lucky Imasuen , after a meeting of the APC leaders at the Ladi Kwali Hall, Sheraton Hotel , Abuja, on Tuesday .
The communique was made public on Wednesday .
Other members of the reconciliation committee include Lucky Imasuen who was named as secretary , Chief Sunny Jackson , Dr Maryam Ali, Dr Sam Jaja , Senator Clever Ikisikpo and Chief Emmanuel Nsan .
The communique read in part , “ The meeting resolved that leaders must work together in harmony in the interest of the party and our people
“ The meeting condemned the divisions amongst the leaders and urged on the need to foster unity in the zone .
“ The meeting resolved to set up a committee of six persons of integrity to handle reconciliation and issues from the various states.
“ The meeting called on leaders to use the membership revalidation , and update exercise as a tool for ramping up our support base and fir unification of the party in the region.”
Two Rivers State members of the House of Representatives: Chisom Dike and Ephraim Nwuzi, representing Elemetai , Oyigbo and Etche and Omuma federal constituencies respectively, were formally received into the party during the meeting .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *